Activities

Webinar on AI Collaboration Project (2nd Round)

In recent years, Artificial Intelligence (AI) technology has been developing rapidly. AI technology has widely supported our daily lives. The application of AI technology is also advancing in the field of the electric power industry. The purpose of this webinar is to share actual examples of AI applied technology development for solving problems in the field through joint research by IERE members.

Scheduled to be released on March 1
ONLY IERE Members, FREE of Charge

In this webinar, ONLY IERE members are invited. It is FREE of charge. Your participation is very welcome. JOIN US and get information about the latest IERE’s activities.

You will need your member ID and password to proceed to the webinar registration page. The ID and password can be set by the participants themselves.
If you haven't set it up yet, please visit this page first.
IERE | Create your IERE Account

Webex Registration for Both Onsite-Webinar and VOD
The webinar will use the Webex Meetings system and be recorded on the system. VIDEO ON DEMAND will be available after the webinar.
Webinar registration is required whether you are attending the webinar or watching the video footage later.

  • What is AI Collaboration Project?

    The AI collaboration project aims to solve various issues of members with AI and share know-how in development among the participating members.

    In this 2nd round, four teams were formed, each consisting of a Data Provider and Application Developer, tackling each "Use Case." A Data Provider is an IERE member who has a problem to solve and literally provides a large amount of data related to the problem, and an Application Developer is a member who develops an AI program to solve the problem.

    Data Use Cases Application Developers Data Providers
    Object detection of pole mounted switches Chubu EPCO Chugoku EPCO
    T&D image object detection use cases CLPRI EPRI
    Predictive maintenance and health monitoring of underground cable CRIEPI Karachi Electric
    Load forecasting of feeder NARI Karachi Electric

    E.ON was leader. CLP was co-leader, and the project (2nd Round) started in July 2022. It continued until the participating-member-exclusive online meeting to share the results was held in October 2023. This webinar will present some of the results reported at that meeting.

    Click here for details on the AI Collaboration (2nd Round)

  • Program

    Program (UTC)
    March 7, 2024 7:00–8:30 (UTC)

    Opening
    • 7:00–7:05 (UTC) Opening Address
      TAKEI Katsuhito
      IERE Secretary General
    Project Outline
    • 7:05–7:15 (UTC) Outline of the AI Collaboration Project (2nd Round)
      Jan SCHIEFELBEIN-LACH, E.ON
      Leader
    Summary of Results (15 min/ each topic including Q&A)
    • 7:15–7:30 (UTC) Object detection of pole mounted switches
      OIRASE Masaya, Chubu EPCO
    • 7:30–7:45 (UTC) T&D image object detection use cases
      Edward CHAN, CLPRI
    • 7:45–8:00 (UTC) Predictive maintenance and health monitoring of underground cable
      MIURA Teruhisa, CRIEPI
    • 8:00–8:15 (UTC) Load forecasting of feeder
      LIU Junjun, NARI
    Next Project
    • 8:15–8:25 (UTC) Introduction of the Next Project
      Jan SCHIEFELBEIN-LACH, E.ON
      Leader (Tentative)
    Closing
    • 8:25–8:30 (UTC) Closing
      TAKEI Katsuhito
      IERE Secretary General
    Time Zone

    The webinar will take place at 7:00 a.m. in UTC (GMT). Please make the proper time zone conversion to match the start time in your area.

    UTC −8:0011:00 p.m. (Mar. 6)–12:30 a.m. Vancouver
    UTC −6:001:00 a.m.–2:30 a.m. San Antonio
    UTC −5:002:00 a.m.–3:30 a.m. Montreal
    UTC +1:008:00 a.m.–9:30 a.m. Amsterdam, Brussel, Essen, Paris
    UTC +2:009:00 a.m.–10:30 a.m. Johannesburg
    UTC +5:0012:00 p.m.–1:30 p.m. Karachi
    UTC +8:003:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. Beijing, Singapore
    UTC +9:004:00 p.m.–5:30 p.m. Seoul, Tokyo
    UTC +10:005:00 p.m.–6:30 p.m. Brisbane
  • Register

    Registration
    • FREE of Charge
      In this webinar, ONLY IERE members are invited for FREE of charge.

    • ONLY IERE Members
      You will need your member ID and password to proceed to the webinar registration page. The ID and password can be set by the participants themselves.
      If you haven't set it up yet, please visit this page first.
      IERE | Create your IERE Account
      If you want to change your password, please proceed with the following steps.
      IERE | Reset your password
      If you are unsure of your eligibility, please contact us
      "office(at)iere.jp". [Please substitute (at) with @]

    • Webex Registration for Both Onsite-Webinar and VOD
      To join the webinar, you need to register. Please press the registration button. You will be automatically transferred to the Webex Meetings registration site, so please fill in the necessary information and register there.

      Then, the Central Office sends a registration confirmation email, please join the webinar by the link on that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your junk mail folder.

      Please join the webinar 5–10 minutes earlier to avoid the last minute problems.

  • MUST-READ

    TIPs for Attendees

    Be Prepared Before Webinar Starts

    Review our webinar tips for attendees and avoid technical issues by testing Webex Meetings on your device prior to the day of the webinar.

    • Testing Webex Meetings
      Join a Test Meeting prior to the day of the webinar:
      Webex - Join a Test Meeting
    • Finding Chat Box
      The Chat Box can be opened through your Webex menu. This is used for submitting your content-related questions anytime. Please specify which presenter the question is for. During the Q&A time, the moderator will select the posted questions and the presenter will answer them. In addition, technical questions about webinar connections such as images and sounds can be put in the Chat Box. The staff of the Central Office will support you. If you have any questions before starting the webinar, please email to "office(at)iere.jp". [Please substitute (at) with @]
    • Webinar Recordings
      The webinar is recorded on the Webex system and is to be on demand. Webinar registrants will be able to view the video footage after the webinar ends.
    • Request for Feedback Survey

      The Central Office would like to hear your feedback so we can keep improving our logistics and content. Please fill a quick survey after the webinar and let us know your thoughts (your answers will be anonymous).

      FeedbackSurvey