Activities

feedback survey

Sustainable Emerging Technologies 2020

The carbon neutral energy transition remains challenging, but we are convinced, that technological advances will be part of the solution. In this webinar, we present topical areas that we think will offer non-trivial benefits and impacts on this transition.

Open to the Public (This Time)

This is our second web event for all the IERE members. In this time, the webinar is open to all applicants from all over the world.

In this webinar, lectures about sustainable emerging technologies will be presented from an IERE board member Dr. Jan Mertens of Engie, France, and his colleague Dr. Elodie Le Cadre Loret.

FREE of Charge
Not only IERE members but anyone who are interested in the lecture at this IERE webinar can join for FREE of charge. Your participation is very welcome. Please join us and discover the new perspectives.
ZOOM Registration for Both Onsite-Webinar and VOD
ZOOM webinar system will be used. VIDEO ON DEMAND will be available after the webinar.
Registration is required whether you are attending the webinar or watching the video later.

Lecturers

 

Dr. Jan Mertens

Chief Science Officer, ENGIE
France

Jan Mertens is ENGIE's Chief Scientific Officer (CSO) co-building ENGIE's long term vision on technologies, identifying key international research players on selected emerging technologies and initiating partnerships. Jan is also visiting Professor at the University of Ghent in the domain of sustainable electricity generation.

>> ENGIE

 

Dr. Elodie Le Cadre Loret

Lead Scientific Advisor, ENGIE
France

Dr. Elodie Le Cadre Loret is Lead Scientific Officer in the Scientific Department of ENGIE. She manages key international partnerships and is in charge of technology watch on new emerging technologies that she promotes in and out ENGIE. She holds a PhD in Energy Economics from University Nanterre Paris La Défense and AgroParisTech (2012) and is engineer in Agronomy. After 4 years position in the Innovation Department of the main French investment fund in biofuel, Elodie joined the Strategy Department of ENGIE in 2012. Then she had various positions at the research center CRIGEN, ENGIE from 2015 to 2019. She was responsible for the research on environmental economics and manage national R&D projects on digitalization of biogas units and biomass supply chain. In June 2019, she joined ENGIE corporate research department to be lead scientific advisor.
Her main research topics are related to biomass, biogas, environment and economics. Since 2012, Elodie is also teaching at IFP School, engineering schools of ISARA and Chimie Paris on the economics of bioenergies.

>> ENGIE

Moderator

 

Dr. Takao Watanabe

Secretary General
IERE
Japan

  • Outline of the Lecture

    The carbon neutral energy transition remains challenging, but we are convinced that technological advances will be part of the solution. In its Energy Technology Perspectives 2020, the IEA shows that 75 % of the required CO2 emission reduction must come from technologies that are today not mature. It is extremely hard to predict next technology breakthroughs but, in this document, we present topical areas that we think will offer non-trivial benefits and impacts on this transition.

    Investment in the development of these new ‘sustainable’ technologies is required and collaboration between public organizations and private organizations required.

    The energy transition will be an ‘AND’ story along two axes:

    (i) we will need many emerging ‘sustainable’ technologies; there is not one that has the potential to overcome the challenge alone

    and

    (ii) the challenge is too large to overcome alone as a person/company/sector, we must collaborate.

    The presentation has little pretention apart from inspiring its audience and calling for collaboration.

  • Program

    Program (GMT+1:00)

    Opening
    • 9:00–9:05
      (GMT+1:00)
      Opening Address, About IERE webinar
      Dr. Takao Watanabe
      IERE Secretary General
    Lectures
    • 9:05–9:40
      (GMT+1:00)
      Sustainable Emerging Technologies 2020
      Dr. Jan Mertens and Dr. Elodie Le Cadre Loret
      Chief Science Officer, ENGIE
      Lead Scientific Advisor, ENGIE
    • 9:40–9:55 Questions & Answers
    Closing
    • 9:55–10:00
      (GMT+1:00)
      Closing Remarks, About IERE webinar
      Dr. Takao Watanabe
      IERE Secretary General
    Time Zone

    The webinar will take place at 9:00 AM in CET (GMT+1:00). Please make the proper time zone conversion to match the start time in your area.

    GMT -8:000:00–1:00 AM Vancouver
    GMT -6:002:00–3:00 AM Mexico City, San Antonio
    GMT -5:003:00–4:00 AM Montreal
    GMT +1:009:00–10:00 AM Amsterdam, Brussel, Essen, Johannesburg, Paris
    GMT +8:004:00–5:00 PM Beijing, Singapore
    GMT +9:005:00–6:00 PM Seoul, Tokyo
    GMT +10:006:00–7:00 PM Brisbane
  • Register

    Registration
    • FREE of Charge
      This webinar would open to all applicants for FREE of Charge, not only IERE members.

    • ZOOM Webinar System to be Used
      To join the webinar, you need to register. Please click the registration button. You will be automatically transferred to the ZOOM registration site, so please fill in the necessary information and register there.

      Then, the Central Office sends a registration confirmation email, please join the webinar by the link on that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your junk mail folder.

      Please join the webinar 5–10 minutes earlier to avoid the last minute problems.

  • MUST-READ

    TIPs for Attendees

    Be Prepared Before Webinar Starts

    Review our webinar tips for attendees and avoid technical issues by testing ZOOM on your device prior to the day of the webinar.

    • Testing ZOOM
      Join a test ZOOM session prior to the day of the webinar:
      https://zoom.us/test
    • Finding Q&A Box
      The Q&A Box can be opened through your ZOOM menu. This is how you will submit content-related questions for the presenter. During the Q&A session, please use the ‘Raise Hand’ function then wait until the moderator or presenter nominates you.
    • Finding Chat Box
      The chat box can be opened through your ZOOM menu. This is used for technical questions about webinar connections such as images and sounds. If you have any questions before starting webinar, please email "office(at)iere.jp". [Please substitute (at) with @]
    • Webinar Recordings
      This Webinar is to be on demand. Webinar registrants will be able to view the recorded video after the webinar ends.
    • Request for Feedback Survey

      The Central Office wants to hear your feedback so we can keep improving our logistics and content. Please fill this quick survey and let us know your thoughts (your answers will be anonymous).

      FeedbackSurvey

  • Online Registration
  • TIPs for Attendees
  • FeedbackSurvey

IERE